Here are photographs and more information (from Chris Rigby) about the churches we will be visiting on “AGM Day”.
Goudhurst – St Mary’s Church
WILLIAM CAMPION MEMORIAL, GOUDHURST
An Italian marble memorial to William Campion (died 1615AD) and his wife Rachell (died 1606AD) adorns the south sanctuary wall. William Campion and his Lady kneel facing each other with a prayer desk, their five sons and four daughters carved on the obelisk pedestals.
CANOPIED CHEST TOMB, GOUDHURST
The canopied chest tomb located in the Lady Chapel (also known as the Bedgebury Chapel) contains the brass of Sir John Culpeper (died 1480AD). Of three ancient brasses in the chapel the oldest dates from 1424AD and commemorates John Bedgebury who went to Agincourt to fight with King Henry V.
SIR ALEXANDER CULPEPER MEMORIAL, GOUDHURST
Sir Alexander Culpeper (died 1537AD) and his wife Constance effigies on a chest tomb under a bay window which has clearly been designed for the purpose. This rare monument of wooden effigies with gesso detailing and colouring of the deceased, and in beautifully detailed costumes, is one of the church’s greatest treasures. This Culpeper memorial is believed to be one of only eight surviving wooden effigy tombs in the country.
CRANBROOK – St Dunstan’s Church
TOTAL IMMERSION FONT AND DOORWAY TO PARVISE, CRANBROOK
Access to the Total Immersion Font is via steps which also lead to the ancient door of the Parvise.
The Total Immersion Font was installed circa 1710 in an attempt to win Baptists back to the church and a wooden platform conceals the deep tank with steps leading down. Total Immersion Fonts are very rare and the one at Cranbrook is considered one of the finest examples in England.
The ancient door at the top of the steps leads to the Parvise which has been used as a priests’ room, vestry, and during the reign of Queen Mary 1 as a temporary jail for heretics awaiting trial.
ROBERTS FAMILY MEMORIAL, CRANBROOK
The Roberts Memorial located in the St Thomas Chapel was given by the Duchess of St Albans in 1775 and shows the Roberts’ family tree.
ROYAL COAT OF ARMS AND CIRCA 14TH CENTURY ROOF BOSSES, CRANBROOK
The royal coat of arms gifted in 1756 by the London apothecary Thomas Basden and four circa 14th century roof bosses believed to be from the original chancel roof are located in the nave on the east wall of the tower.